TagsPage.com and its fake PR buttons

Posted in » Online Advertising - by Ades on May 17th, 2007

New to this blog? See our Popular Posts section to get started, we have tons of great articles that can benefit you. Don't miss the upcoming interesting articles, subscribe to our RSS.

Some people think they are the only smart ones and the rest of the world are all dummies. http://www.tagspage.com is a well known paid tagging website, where you can buy some tags and link it to your website. You can choose the color and the size of your tag, the price will be determined according to your tag specifications. The bigger the tag size, more you have to pay.

What I don’t understand is that TagsPage.com has decided to fool everybody by placing a PR7 button on the homepage, the button is not functional and has been just inserted inside the page. The actual PageRank of the site is showing PR6, which is not bad. But why the insincerity?

Checking other pages of the site, you will see many PR6 buttons placed on top of every page. Actual page ranks of the pages are either PR5 or PR4. I hope the owner of the site comes to his senses and removes these fake PR buttons. He is intentionally misleading people into believing that it’s a PR7 site so that he can rip them off. I hope not many people fell into his trap.

Reminder
Just be careful when buying advertising from sites, do your homework and check the site’s background little bit. Make sure the claimed PageRanks, Alexa Stats, FeedBurner Subscribers are all real before you make the payment.

Update:TagsPage’s admin sent a reply saying that it was more difficult to get a high PageRank now. He said that if you get PR6 now, it’s like you got PR7 before. Whatever it is, there is no justification for placing fake PR buttons.


Related Posts





16 Responses to “TagsPage.com and its fake PR buttons”

  1. By Mark on May 17, 2007

    Not a nice thing but still, their $5/character offer is still attractive for getting incoming links for one year

  2. By Community Building Blog on May 17, 2007

    Perhaps they were once PR7 but dropped down in the last update and haven’t updated their button? Well that’s the only credible reason I can think of - I would hate to think they are being fraudulent.

    - Martin Reed

  3. By admin on May 18, 2007

    Martin, good approach. I like your positive thinking. While I wish to think the same, there are so many things make me think otherwise.

    First of all, those PR buttons come with a script, you paste it inside any HTML page and it will show the latest PR of that particular page. Inserting those images manually in every page is not the effective way of doing things unless it has other objectives.

    Secondly, unless the project is abandoned and no longer looked after, it’s reasonable to believe that the owner left it as it is for a long time. However this site is profitable and making money. So it’s his responsibility to update those images that could mislead the crowd.

  4. By dodger on May 23, 2007

    Hi! I’m owner of the same service but in Russian. And I don’t place fake PR button. My PR is only 2. But it’s only beginning!

  5. By Make Easy Money Online on Jun 2, 2007

    Aren’t these Fake PR link farms making enough money? I personally are annoyed by them and they should be banned - but I’m always tempted to buy a link since it passes PR and it’s so cheap.

  6. By ebspromo on Jun 8, 2007

    We paid for a link from there knowing the page rank was not accurate. Unfortunately for TP, they apparently were not knowledgeable enough to place a working PR button and used static images. In case someone else missed this new development, GGL recently changed their ranking that affected the majority of websites indexed by the engine. Our site was a 4 and dropped to a 3 after the algo change. I don’t condone the misleading PR button, but anyone willing to spend that kind of money for a link is either doing their research first, or are setting themselves up for a loss. For anyone who has PR3 or lower, we think it would still be a good non-reciprocal inbound link. At least that’s what we are hoping for. In addition to paying our SEO firm $2k a month, we figured it couldn’t hurt.

  7. By Ian on Jun 16, 2007

    We paid too for some real estate tags. Now we just noticed they just launched a real estate tags page. This should be better for SEO purposes if you are targeting real estate keywords but… it has a PR0?!? Am I missing something?

  8. By sohbet on Jun 22, 2007

    thank you vary mach

  9. By askyeri on Jun 22, 2007

    thank you for all…

  10. By Jon Sterling on Jul 3, 2007

    I am pulling a PR 5 from tags page on one of my sites but that is the highest so far - I think it was free when I posted the url at the time - so I am getting a great deal right now.

  11. By Bob on Jul 3, 2007

    Hi! I’m owner of the same service but in Australia. And I don’t place fake PR button. My PR is only 3 with other pages scoring less. But I have only just started. Your readers can get a 50% discount using tagspage as a coupon.

  12. By boatek on Aug 6, 2007

    He he :) Thats right… :))) i Have fake page too, with PR9 :))))

  13. By Michael on Aug 9, 2007

    Thank you very much

  14. By Josh - Hosting on Aug 9, 2007

    I am familiar with the site, but never saw the PR7 image. My toolbar tells me it’s PR6 ….

  15. By kris on Sep 8, 2007

    Hi,

    For our site http://www.vkinfotek.com we have desisted from paying to incoming links. I have a listing with botw.org and businesseek.com -

    Recently, i paid tagspage.com for a listing.

    Curious to see whether i will get a dozen hits during this year …

    kris

  16. By Ant Onaf on Jun 7, 2008

    TagsPage.com is now showing a PR6 image on their homepage, but the actual page rank is a PR3. Most inner pages are PR0, but the PR6 image still display on inner pages. For this trickery is the reason why I would never buy a link from their pages, because I don’t like doing business with dishonest people or at least be up front about your trickery.

FREE eBook: "Blog Profits Blueprint" by Yaro Starak. download here.

Post a Comment